GEOGRAPHY CLUB BY BRENT HARTINGER PDF

GEOGRAPHY CLUB by Brent Hartinger (HarperCollins, ). Russel Middlebrook has a secret from even his best friends at high school, that he’s gay. But an. A modern classic about a group of teens discovering sexuality and identity, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and David Hart. A closeted gay high school sophomore narrates Hartinger’s uneven yet realistic first novel. The story starts out strong, when Russel meets a jock from his school, .

Author: Nikoramar Kagabar
Country: Botswana
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Life
Published (Last): 14 July 2010
Pages: 176
PDF File Size: 8.68 Mb
ePub File Size: 10.46 Mb
ISBN: 420-1-28587-851-2
Downloads: 56149
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kazile

Articles needing additional references from August All articles needing additional references Pages to import images to Wikidata. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources.

For the grography, see Geography Club film. Obviously one thing leads to another, and some people hook up, lie to their friends, fake being straight, do terrible things to other kids to fit in, and rise and f Substantially better than Totally Joe.

But the MC isn’t an asshole and it has a decent ending. Russel’s friendship with Gunnar gets him into deep water.

Russel is again pressured for sex and when Gunnar refuses to drive him home, Bartinger storms off. Min sees this and is disgusted. So the protagonist, Russel, was plain. Although the target audience is likely gay teenagers, the quick pace and very easy reading makes this a good book for anyone to read. Apr 17, Kealsey rated it did not like it Shelves: This was a cute little book – and I don’t mean that with condescension.

This book made me laugh too!

Geography Club : Brent Hartinger :

Just don’t look too hard into the beards. But why not Book One? The group meets and decides on the Geograpby Club name to keep it private. They decide to meet and end up discovering three more gay, lesbian and bisexual teenagers that go to their school and decide they would like to form their own support group. Aug geograpy, Elisa Rolle added it. I answer all emails, so feel free to contact brenh through my website: Brian writes in an application for a Gay Straight club making people think he’s the “gay kid”.

  HUMAX HDR-1000S PDF

And my work load from the beginning of the year is unimaginable, so it was a feat. However, there was also a lightness in the reading. Jun 15, Vitor Martins rated it really liked it Shelves: So the characters are, for the most part, believable, but the high school itself felt completely false, as cliche as “the jocks” or brentt nerds” were. Basically, I see myself as a storyteller.

It leads to the most acutely funny-horrible line of many amusing moments. My phone is a fucking quitter.

GEOGRAPHY CLUB

It was a good representation of high school life. It’s just a great book, and I’ve been wanting to read it for so long. If only I had the guts to do something like this in high school. It was such a wonderful book! I didn’t know that this book is into the movie. This book is practically a classic by now and is one of the first books that I read teography centered on a gay teenager. I recommend the film version as well as there are many significant differences between that and the novel.

Mar 24, Kiki rated it it was ok. The Geography Club resumes meeting this time seeking more open membership as an official club. The main character shows promise in the first chapter an I have never rage-quit a book so fast and so furiously and I don’t think I ever will again. But Hartinger credibly captures high school pressure and intolerance, from the opening scene in the boys’ locker room, in which Russel fears being found out, to a painful episode in which an outcast, thought to be the gay student, is humiliated in the school cafeteria.

  DERECHO CONSTITUCIONAL MEXICANO ELISUR ARTEAGA NAVA PDF

They both started having crush on each other. You get off your plane, and your connecting flight is about six steps away. A bit on the plain-side. Jul 07, Roger Kean rated it really liked it. The Best Books of The writing and the plot will just suck you in and make you relate to the story. It reminded me of some of the TV shows I used to watch in my younger years I didn’t have a major probelm with Geography Club until this happened.

Will Russel ultimately choose popularity and sacrifice his personal values, or will he be true to himself and remain a loser? But considering it is YA we will go with a 4!

Thankfully I can say it’s not a personal thing so much as a lot of the issues and realities in the story are things people around me have had to be dealing with personally right now. I’m not saying this book has many insightful moments, but it was so much fun reading it.

The only thing this book had going for it was a few clever quips, and a sometimes allegorical view of high school. Even on the edge of this abyss, Russel fails to inform Gunnar that he couldn’t go through with it. Also see Kiki’s review. For the last twenty years, I have made my living writing just about everything that involves words. When I got to the desk, the clean, impeccably dressed, beautiful Dutch attendant politely told me I had three and a half hours to wait until check in, so I The thing about Schiphol is that it’s almost too easy to navigate.